Just another WordPress.com site

A substandard democracy

Wee Ginger Dug

What exactly is the point of a newspaper if all it does is to regurgitate press releases? It ceases to become a newspaper, it becomes a propaganda sheet. There’s a place for opinion, polemic, and bias in newspapers, that place is in the opinion columns. That’s why they’re called the opinion columns, the clue is in the name. What I write for The National is shamelessly biased. I wear my bias on my sleeve. I write an opinion column. I don’t pretend that what I produce is unbiased and balanced news. Primarily I am a polemicist. That’s my job, that’s what I do.  When your open and honest about your bias it’s not a problem, because then readers are able to apply their own filters.  The problem arises when you present your bias as balanced and unbiased.  That’s dishonest.

Fact checking is the job of a news reporter. That’s what…

View original post 1,152 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

