Just another WordPress.com site

A Woman's View on Independence

PatPat is the co-founder of the successful online grassroots campaign group ‘Pat’s Petition’. She continues her fight against the welfare cuts, brought in by the UK government, and their destructive effect on disabled people & carers whilst being a strong supporter of Scottish Independence.

In 1984 I lost my sight. It was overnight without warning or choice just wham bam gone. At the time I was living in West Berlin with my then Army Officer husband and 2 young sons. I was 31. Any diagnosis or possible treatment wasn’t available. It took a further 3 years to confirm I had in fact lost my sight and the verdict was that I had a rare hereditary gene which would normally manifest itself in teenage years. I was told I was ‘lucky’ as I had managed a further 12 years with sight. The next 3 years saw us move twice – from…

View original post 1,168 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

