Just another WordPress.com site

Wee Ginger Dug

A guest post by Lauren Reid

So I’m sat here right now at nine on a Friday night wondering how I put it into words, my journey from a ‘staunch’ No to an active yes. I’ve had to explain it to close family and friends numerous times now, but it’s different opening up your life to strangers. As the saying goes, probably best to start from the beginning, as this is exactly where my No vote was instilled.

I grew up in Bathgate in the 80s and 90s. Raised by a Dad in the Orange Order and a Mum who had mental health issues I spent the first few years of my childhood visiting her in old Bangour. Bathgate had been crippled but I never knew. People being skint was just the way it was.

I remember the sash as a nursery rhyme, I remember summer holidays as turning up…

View original post 1,474 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

